Back Issues
About Us


2017 Herbs & Spices

Prairie Garden 2016 cover
2016 Fruit & Berries

Prairie Garden 2015 cover
2015 Grasses & Succulents

Prairie Garden 2014 cover
2014 75th Anniversary Gardens

Prairie Garden 2013 cover
2013 Perennials

Prairie Garden 2012 cover
2012 Trees

The 2011 Prairie Garden
2011 Prairie Garden - Healthy Gardening

2010 Annuals & Biennials

2009 Shrubs

2008 Roses

2007 The Edible Landscape

2006 Myth Magic & Meditation

2005 Featuring Lilies

2004 Pleasant Prairie Places

2003 Themes & Extremes

2002 Landscape Design

About Us


A non-profit publication dedicated to the advancement of horticulture in the Prairie Provinces

The Prairie Garden is a digest sized, soft-covered book published annually by a volunteer committee consisting of about 15-20 members. The work is organized by the Editor and an annual Guest Editor. Each year, a theme is selected from which a large portion of the articles follow. The theme articles are the responsibility of the Guest Editor, who is chosen because of his or her knowledge in the chosen subject area. The books are edited in part and as a whole by The Prairie Garden Committee, before being published each year in time for Christmas. Members of the committee often write articles for the book as well as provide images for the 16/32-page colour section aside from their role as Associate Editors. These individuals are what makes this book possible, as are our sponsors, and you, our loyal readership.


The Prairie Garden Committee began in 1956 as a standing committee of the Winnipeg Horticultural Society, which had published The Winnipeg Flower Garden and The Flower Garden, the precursor of The Prairie Garden, starting in 1937. The book began as the annual report of the Winnipeg Horticultural Society, and was free to members when they paid their annual membership fees. It was first called The Winnipeg Flower Garden and included not only the official annual report of the society, but also informational articles by prominent local horticulturists of the time. The name was changed to The Flower Garden in 1955 because of the book’s ever-increasing readership. However, it was only to be called The Flower Garden for two years before becoming The Prairie Garden in 1957, once again because of its ever-broadening popularity, now extending right across the Prairies and beyond; and its applicability to gardening in this region in general, and not to Winnipeg in particular.
(more history...)

The Prairie Garden Committee

Linda DietrickLinda Dietrick: Chair
Before her retirement in 2016, Linda was a professor of German language and literature at the University of Winnipeg. She has also been an avid gardener for over 30 years. Her garden has been featured on a number of tours. As a certified Master Gardener, she enjoys volunteering in the gardening community as well as speaking and writing about plants and garden design.

Ian Wise: Secretary
Ian's educational and working background is in entomology. After obtaining Bachelor of Science and a Master of Pest Management degree from Simon University University in Burnaby, BC, he worked as the Provincial Research Co-ordinator for Hoechst Canada in Regina for 8 years and as a research biologist at the Cereal Research Centre in Winnipeg for 25 years until retirement in 2013. At the CRC he specialized in developing economic thresholds and sequential sampling plans for insects pest on field crops, and screening wheat for resistance to insect pests. He worked with plant breeders in the development of insect resistance of spring wheat to the wheat midge. He has been an avid gardener for 35 years and grew up in BC on a small acreage where nearly all their fruit and vegetables came from their garden.

Colin Briggs: Vice-Chair
Colin is Emeritus professor of Pharmacy at the University of Manitoba. His specialty is drugs of natural origin and his research has involved analytical studies on nutritional agents and potential toxic compounds in plants. Colin's interests include historical aspects of medicines and with his wife, Elizabeth, he transcribed the nineteenth century medical records of a York Factory physician. Colin is an enthusiastic gardener who enjoys the healthy exercise and relaxation associated with gardening. He is a graduate of the University of London, England.

Tammy JensenTammy Jensen: Sales
Tammy was guest editor for the 2015 edition of Jensen's Nursery. Tammy reaches out to her gardening network to solicit articles, as well as contributing articles herself, and her business-sense to aid The Prairie Garden's marketing efforts. Tammy has been deeply involved with all aspects of the family-run Jensen's Nursery. Tammy's love of plants, horticultural expertise and business acumen are wonderful traits she brings to the 2015 Prairie Garden.

Lynsey Sable: Editor

Sandy VentonSandy Venton
Sandy has been gardening for over 50 years. Martagon lilies are her passion. She is the president of the North American Lily Society and secretary of the Manitoba Regional Lily Society, a lily judge, and is studying to be a Master Gardener. She lives to garden.

Andy TekauzAndy Tekauz
Andy is now ‘retired’ after a 40-year career with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada in Winnipeg as a research scientist (plant pathologist) working on diseases of cereal crops. He believes in TPG’s mantra of providing practical, concise, accessible, and locally-written information for prairie gardeners, and enjoys his editing duties with the publication. He has written several articles for TPG to address relevant disease issues in the garden and to relay applicable mitigation measures for these. He resides, in St. Andrews MB.   

Warren OttoWarren Otto

Nataša Juck

Rita Campbell

Cathy Shaluk

Richard Denesiuk: Web site administrator
Richard was The Prairie Garden's editor from in March, 2007 to December 2015 and now volunteers to work on this website. Raised in Winnipeg, he has worked with Creative Retirement Manitoba for 35 years, currently as their Exceutive Director, Operations and Technology. He enjoys gardening, photography, the outdoors, computers and music.



Click here to read a 2010 article about The
Prairie Garden Committee from the Winnipeg Free Press.

Some of the committee at the 2009 Award for Excellence lunch: (l-r) Ed Czarnecki, Jean Pomo, Colleen Zacharias, (award recipients: Ken Ivey & Brenda Cameron), Roger Brown, Reg Curle, (sitting) Susanne Olver & Linda Pearn.

Some of The Prairie Graden Committee
From left: Co-chairs Ed Czarnecki and Colleen Zacharias, Susanne Olver, Sandy Venton, Richard Denesiuk, Jean Pomo, Fran Wershler, Carla Hrycyna and Valerie Denesiuk 
(photo Boris Minkevich - Winnipeg Free Press)


Free Gardening Talks Series



©2016 The Prairie Garden Committee